Volkswagen Announces the 2010 Jetta TDI® Cup Driver Lineup

Written By:
Photography by:

Volkswagen of America, Inc. is proud to announce the names of the 25 drivers who will compete in the 2010 Jetta TDI® Cup. The Volkswagen-operated spec racing series, now entering its third season, will take the green flag on its SCCA Pro Racing-sanctioned events beginning April 23 at Virginia International Raceway.


The drivers selected to compete in the 2010 Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup include:


Rafael Navarro IV – Temecula, CA


Arie Ouimet – Plymouth, MA


Chris Wehrheim – Norcross, GA


JJ Tomlinson – Park City, UT


Justine Jackson – Kingston, Jamaica


Jarvis Gennari – Boca Raton, FL


Mike Mineo-Nardacci – East Hills, NY


Jenna Wagner – Bristol, VA


Nate Norenberg – Plymouth, MN


JD Mobley - Castle Rock, CO


Andrew Cordeiro - Woodbridge, ON


Jake Thompson – Calgary, AB


Colin Thompson – Perkasie, PA


Michael Hogg – Vancouver, BC


Kevin Gleason – Johnstown, PA


Taylor Tzouanakis – Wauconda, IL


Wyatt Gooden – Gates Mills, OH


Brian Whitmire – Baton Rouge, LA


AJ Severino – Hamilton, NJ


Andrew Novich – Novato, CA


Taylor Broekemeier - Fort Collins, CO


AJ Nealey - Edgewater, MD


Ryan Ellis - Ashburn, VA


Juan Pablo Delgado – Orizaba, Mexico


Juan Pablo Sierra Lendle - Puebla, Mexico






Earlier this week in Las Vegas, NV, Volkswagen welcomed driver candidates from throughout North America for three days of in-depth testing and analysis. All drivers were evaluated through a variety of on- and off-track scenarios to establish skill level, potential, and overall ability. Following a collection of driving activities, physical fitness tests, media training, and an in-depth sponsorship workshop from Townsend Bell, who finished 4th in the 2009 Indianapolis 500 (, the final 25 drivers were chosen.


"Our third year for the Jetta TDI Cup is already shaping up to be the best one yet," said Clark Campbell, Motorsport Manager, Volkswagen of America, Inc. "We were given the extremely difficult task of selecting only 25 drivers from a such diverse group of individuals who, honestly, all deserve the chance to compete. With 18 new drivers and 7 more returning from last season, the field is undoubtedly set for top-notch competition and racing excitement."


Drivers will race in ten Jetta TDI Cup events spanning seven road courses in the United States and Mexico in identical, factory-prepared and maintained Jetta TDIs running on clean diesel fuel. The series Champion will win $100,000 toward career development support from Volkswagen, while every driver who competes in the series will earn a Pro Racing license from SCCA at the finish of the season.


The Jetta TDI Cup racecar is powered by a 2.0-liter, four-cylinder TDI clean diesel engine mated to a six-speed, Direct Shift Gearbox® (DSG®) dual-clutch automatic transmission. The car is only slightly modified from stock through the addition of race tires, suspension, brakes, and safety equipment.



2010 Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup Schedule


Round 1 & 2  April 23 – 25     Virginia International Raceway (Alton, VA)


Round 3      May 9                  New Jersey Motorsports Park (Millville, NJ)


Round 4      June 5 – 6           Miller Motorsports Park (Tooele, UT)


Round 5      July 18 – 20        Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course (Lexington, OH)


Round 6      July 30 – Aug. 1  Autobahn Country Club (Joliet, IL)


Round 7 & 8 Aug. 20 – 22      Road America (Elkhart Lake, WI)


Round 9 & 10 Sept. 24 – 26   Autodromo AMOZOC (Puebla, Mexico)


To learn more about the 2010 Jetta TDI Cup, please visit


About Volkswagen of America, Inc.


Founded in 1955, Volkswagen of America, Inc. is headquartered in Herndon, Virginia. It is a subsidiary of Volkswagen AG, headquartered in Wolfsburg, Germany. Volkswagen is one of the world's largest producers of passenger cars and Europe's largest automaker. Volkswagen sells the Golf, GTI, New Beetle, New Beetle convertible, Jetta, Jetta SportWagen, Eos, Passat, Passat Wagon, CC, Tiguan, Touareg and Routan through approximately 600 independent U.S. dealers. All 2010 Volkswagens come standard-equipped with Electronic Stabilization Program. This is important because the National Highway and Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has called ESC the most effective new vehicle safety technology since the safety belt. Visit Volkswagen of America online at


SCCA Pro Racing


A wholly owned subsidiary of Sports Car Club of America, Inc., SCCA Pro Racing Ltd. is a leading sanctioning body for motorsports events in the United States. A member of the Automobile Competition Committee of the United States (ACCUS), SCCA Pro Racing operates and sanctions the SCCA World Challenge Championships, the SCCA Playboy Mazda MX-5 Cup and the Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup and provides sanctioning and various operational services for other racing series. For more information, please visit



Special edition of the Jetta GLI goes on sale early in 2014
Special edition of the Jetta GLI goes on sale early in 2014

In 1984, Volkswagen introduced the first Jetta GLI to the U.S. market, setting the blueprint for all subsequent versions of this beloved sport sedan...

Unofficial Last Sunday cruise to Big Socal Euro
Unofficial Last Sunday cruise to Big Socal Euro

101 to the 5 this group of VW and Audi's cruise to Southern California's largest gathering of European vehicles...

The new Golf Sportsvan
The new Golf Sportsvan

Volkswagen is presenting a concept car of the newly developed Golf Sportsvan in a world premiere at the International Motor Show (IAA) in Frankfurt. The compact minivan will complete the Golf family at the middle of next year....

EuroCar News on youTube Follow eurocarnews on Twitter