Volkswagen Motorsport Newsletter 27/2012

Written By:
Photography by: Volkswagen
Carlos Sainz/Luis Moya Polo R-WRC San Marino
Carlos Sainz/Luis Moya Polo R-WRC San Marino Source Volkswagen
Image Gallery
Carlos Sainz/Luis Moya Polo R-WRC San Marino Volkswagen Polo R-WRC Rally legend San Marino Carlos Sainz and Luis Moya Rally legend San Marino Volkswagen Polo R-Cup India in Chennai 2012

Rally legend San Marino Rally legend Sainz thrills crowd in Volkswagen Polo R-WRC

Former Rally World Champion and "Dakar" winner Carlos Sainz thrilled a turnout of 60,000 spectators at the Rally legend San Marino. Together with his co-driver Luis Moya in the Volkswagen Polo R-WRC that served as the course-opening car he showed stunning drifts and spectacular jumps. For the seasoned Spanish campaigner, this marked the first run as a driver in the Republic of San Marino. The participants in the rally spectacle also included the former World Rally Champions and motorsport legends Björn Waldegard, Juha Kankkunen, Harald Demuth, Per Eklund, Sandro Munari plus Volkswagen Representative Jacky Ickx, among others. German rally hopeful Sepp Wiegand together with his co-driver, the former "Dakar" winner Timo Gottschalk, showed a brilliant performance as well. In the Golf G60 they occupied a strong fifth place in the overall classification in a field with various vehicles from different rally eras. More than 200 participants in total started to the 220-kilometer run.

Volkswagen Polo R-Cup India Victories for Walavalkar and Noorani

Volkswagen Polo R-Cup India Victories for Walavalkar and Noorani in Chennai 2012

Good weekend for Ameya Walavalkar in Chennai: The leader of the standings in the Volkswagen Polo R-Cup India won the first heat at the penultimate race weekend and thanks to a lightning-fast start relegated pole sitter Avdumber Hede and Saurav Bandopadhyay to the positions. In the second round, he again showed a top performance in the Volkswagen Polo R-Cup with a TSI engine. Due to the reversed grid, the driver from Mumbai advanced from position eight on the grid to second at the end of the race. The race was won by Rahil Noorani, who benefitted from a 20-second time penalty imposed on Akhil Khushlani for jump starting. The podium was completed by last year’s champion Vishnu Prasad.

Coming up next …

19–21 October FIA World Rally Championship in Italy

19–21 October Volkswagen Scirocco R-Cup at Hockenheim (D)

19–21 October Formula 3 Euro Series at Hockenheim (D)

19–21 October FIA Formula 3 European Championship at Hockenheim (D)

19–21 October Volkswagen Endurance Cup at Zandvoort (NL)


First test drives with the Porsche LMP1 racing car
First test drives with the Porsche LMP1 racing car

The new Porsche LMP1 racing car is currently being put through its paces in test drives on international circuits. Following its successful launch in June on the Porsche test track in Weissach, the prototype sports car ...

Audi Motorsport-Newsletter 14/2013
Audi Motorsport-Newsletter 14/2013

Actor Wotan Wilke Möhring, Allan McNish and Felix Baumgartner attend DTM opening round at Hockenheim. Rahel Frey celebrates her debut in the Audi R8 LMS Cup in China. Successes for the Audi R8 LMS in Sweden and Brazil....

Volkswagen Motorsport Newsletter 03/2013
Volkswagen Motorsport Newsletter 03/2013

The latest Volkswagen Motorsports News from around the world...

EuroCar News on youTube Follow eurocarnews on Twitter